Big draw: Shamrocks in Clover

Pat Aylward and Jimmy Kearns

By Jimmy Rhatigan

WHILE it will always cherish its glorious past, a proud local GAA is determined to focus on its future.

The Shamrocks of Ballyhale who boast a huge collection of the most decoetated hurlers in the Kilkenny is now looking five years ahead as it a future of development and more success.

Always quick on the draw, the comparatively small club with big ambitions  has come up with an ambitious Hurling with the Stars

fund-raiser that will see the South Kilkenny kingpins working with the broader GAA family.

A novel draw piloted by the host club will be driven by the participation of clubs throughout our county and will be a winner takes all as all involved share in the proceeds.

The Shamrocks Club is planning to be in Clover as they aim to upgrade their facilities at Páirc na Seamróga with the initial purchase of a juvenile pitch.

As a rural club of some 850 enthusiastic souls, they are delighted to invite sister and brother clubs to join them in their project and they promise a good return that will go towards the upkeep and progress of all involved.

So it truly will be a case of winner takes all. In this case everyone will be a victor as camogie or hurling clubs, including juvenile outfits that purchase a numbered draw card with 25 lines at €10 each, will return €100 to the Shamrocks and keep €150 for their own clubs.

Top prize in the draw is a trip to Ballyhale on July 21`, 2018 when the winning club’s hurlers  will be coached and mentored by stars of the past, including five Shamrocks players who captained our senior Cats to All-Ireland Glory, along with stars of the present, Joey Rolden, Richie Reid and TJ Reid.

The past captains are Ger Fennelly 1979, Liam Fennelly 1983, 1992, Michael Fennelly 2009, James ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick 2008 and Henry Shefflin 2007.

The big draw can be used as a local fund-raiser ay any club until June 22. There is no limit on card purchase which means 10 cards sold can bring in €1,500 for a club. The draw is on June 25.